Best 1:1 Online Writing Tutors Available Now

Select a subject
View Profile
Laura B.
5.0(74)
1 on 1: $40 / hr
Lewis and Clark College
Hello! I am a veteran middle school teacher who has taught English language arts in the 7th and 8th grade classroom for 12 years. I also taught Algebra I for 3 years and Spanish I for 7 years. I have worked in urban, rural, and suburban public schools in 4 different states and 2 different countries. I have also tutored one-on-one consistently for 2 years and inconsistently throughout my career. In high school, I scored a 31 on my ACT and graduated as the valedictorian of my class. I won the Presidential Scholarship at Illinois State University and graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor's degree in middle level education. I know how to "do school" and have several strategies and study skills to pass on to my students. After a few years of teaching 7th grade English in Illinois, I moved to Spain to teach English in a bilingual public school program there. Then I taught English, math, and Spanish in Portland, OR, for five years and earned my master's degree at Lewis and Clark College. I passed my certification test to receive my reading specialist credentials there as well. I even taught a graduate level course in the reading program at Lewis and Clark. The past four years I have taught 8th grade English in Wisconsin and 6th grade English online virtually through a company called Elevate K12. I work hard to prepare students for the rigors of high school and to develop a love of reading and writing. As a tutor I truly enjoy working with students to overcome hurdles in understanding complex material and to develop confidence in their academic abilities. I know that each learner is unique, and it may take several tries and different approaches to find success, but that's part of what makes the work interesting! In my free time, I enjoy traveling, hiking, kayaking, reading, and spending time with my family, friends, and dog. Watching Stranger Things and Grey's Anatomy is another hobby. Please get in touch if you need support in middle school or high school English work (reading, writing, grammar, test-taking, etc.). Summer is a great time to schedule tutoring sessions to fight off the summer slide and to keep that brain engaged!
View Profile
Jay M.
1 on 1: $40 / hr
Harvard College
Hi there! My name is Jay. I completed my undergraduate education at Harvard, majoring in psychology and neuroscience with English as a secondary field. Outside of classes, I was heavily involved in theater. I graduated summa cum laude with election to Phi Beta Kappa. A bit on my background: As a college student, I volunteered as a research assistant in two different cognitive-science labs; early on, my duties included editing senior researchers' scientific manuscripts in preparation for publication. After graduating, I worked for Sylvan Learning as an all-subjects tutor and Biology Olympiad coach and then for Kaplan Test Prep as a GRE teacher. In addition, I spent four years coaching the speech team at Palo Alto High School in California. I would be delighted to be your literature or writing tutor, whether you're looking for help understanding difficult texts, mastering tricky grammar rules, figuring out the best way to compose an essay or lab report, or preparing for a standardized test. Although they are less typical Stellarlane subjects, I can provide tutoring in psychology or theater, too. Also, if you're looking to apply to graduate school, I can help with specialized preparation for any or all of the three sections of the GRE. Within the fields I mentioned, I would be happy to work with you on just about any assignment that you need to complete or any course of study that you would like to pursue, whether for a class or for personal interest. I do, however, particularly love dramatic literature, including Shakespeare and his contemporaries. So, if you need help with analyzing a play, or if you're seeking some educational enrichment and would like to dive into a few of Shakespeare's greatest hits--or, alternatively, a few of his sometimes-overlooked gems--I might be an especially good match for you. If you have any questions for me, please don't hesitate to ask.
View Profile
Gabriel S.
1 on 1: $50 / hr
Swarthmore College
Hi there! I’m a junior in the Honors Program at Swarthmore College; I study Biology and Urban Planning and Policy (a major I designed myself!) with a 3.97 GPA. I’ve been helping people learn for a long time: I have five years of tutoring experience with students of all ages across all academic subjects; I’ve worked as a teaching assistant at the American Museum of Natural History in NYC; and I taught my own geography curriculum to middle schoolers for six years. A little bit more about my academic credentials: I’m a National Merit Scholar, a US Presidential Scholar Semifinalist, a Pinkerton and Lang Science Scholar, a two-time National AP Scholar with Distinction, and a two-time New York State champion in the National Geographic Bee. I graduated cum laude from the Collegiate School, a prestigious independent high school in New York (with a 3.97 GPA); as for standardized testing, I received a perfect 36 and a perfect raw score on every section of the ACT (that is, I answered every question on the exam correctly). Outside of tutoring, I currently work in a neurobiology lab, where I research the dynamics of spatial memory formation in the hippocampus. I’ve also worked extensively in politics, including as the Organizing Director for a state legislative campaign, a US Senate Page, and an extern for a state Attorney General. Please reach out to schedule a session! I’d love to meet you and get the chance to work with you/your child.
View Profile
Adina N.
1 on 1: $30 / hr
University of Michigan Law School (matriculating fall 2021)
Hi there! My name is Adina and I'm from Ann Arbor, MI. I graduated summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Northwestern University in 2017 with a comparative literature major and Hebrew studies minor. I was a Daniel Bonbright Scholar, awarded to the top three graduating students in the humanities. This fall, I'll begin pursuing my JD at Michigan Law School, and eventually I hope to be an environmental lawyer. I come from a family of teachers and professors, and they certainly passed down their love for teaching. In 2019 I moved to Madrid, where I taught English for a year and a half. While I was there, I also conducted private lessons for adults who wanted to learn conversational and business English, and for students preparing for the Cambridge English exam. My passion for English and writing motivates most everything I do. After finishing undergrad, I worked for two years as a legal assistant for a public interest law firm in D.C. There, I was tasked with drafting substantive legal briefs, motions, and letters. In the last year, I have done policy work for several animal/environmental non-profits, where I have drafted expert opinion articles, testimony for House committee hearings, and research memoranda related to current legislation. I am currently writing for an organization where I summarize technical scientific studies about animal and environmental issues to be published on an online research database for advocacy organizations. I'm excited to use my teaching experience and extensive knowledge of reading and writing to help out the next generation of writers and thinkers! I scored a 35 on the ACT. More recently, I scored a 174 on the LSAT (the law school admissions test), which is in the 99th percentile. I look forward to hearing from you and working together with you/your student. Please feel free to reach out with any and all questions!